Places to Visit

Upleadon

Middletown Farm is in the village of Upleadon. It is a small rural village in glorious countryside three miles from the market town of Newent.

 

Hartpury

Hartpury is a village approximately four miles from Middletown Farm and is home to the renowned agricultural college.  The village also boasts a Post Office, three pubs, a school, a church, a vets practice and an saddlery.

 

Newent

Newent is a small market town lying in the north of the Forest of Dean. This attractive, unspoilt town has buildings dating back to the 13th century and a half timbered market house, all part of the town centre conservation area.

Newent Lake is a tranquil attraction that offers a home to a diverse range of wildlife. Newent is also home to the world famous Onion Fayre and is the birthplace if Joe Meek the legendary 60’s maverick record producer.

It has three supermarkets, a library and a selection of local and interesting shops. There is a delightful old fashioned sweet shop, a clock shop, a lovely gift shop and a clothes shop to equip you with all the country clothing you would ever need. There is also a good selection of pubs and eateries. Just outside Newent there is the International Birds of Prey Centre and several vineyards. Newent is 2.7 miles away from Middletown farm.

 

Gloucester

At the heart of the city of Gloucester stands one of the country’s most breath-taking cathedrals and yet only a few minutes walk away you enter another world of ships of all shapes and sizes in the dramatic setting of the Victorian Docks.

If you are into shopping and want designer names, Gloucester Quays with its designer outlet shopping and waterside bars and restaurants provides the perfect day out.  Distance is ten miles from Middletown Farm.

 

Tewkesbury

Tewlesbury is a historic riverside town with many original Tudor buildings and a beautiful abbey. Distance eleven miles

 

Cheltenham

Also known as Cheltenham Spa, it is an elegant Regency Town with a theatre and beautiful shops and buildings. There is also the famous Cheltenham Racecourse which holds many festivals, the most famous being the Cheltenham Festival of Racing and the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Distance sixteen miles.

 

Ross-on-Wye

Ross on Wye is a beautiful market town situated on the River Wye and close to the Forest of Dean. Distance from Middletown Farm twelve miles.

 

Ledbury

Ledbury is a lovely market town with Tudor houses and cobbled streets. Distance eleven miles.

 

Other Notable Attractions

Eastnor Castle www.eastnorcastle.com

Goodrich Castle www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/goodrich-castle/

Chepstow Castle cadw.wales.gov.uk/daysout/chepstow-castle/?lang=en

Tintern Abbey cadw.wales.gov.uk/daysout/tinternabbey/?lang=en

Westons Cider Visitor Centre www.westons-cider.co.uk/visiting-westons/visitor-centre/

Hereford Cider Museum www.cidermuseum.co.uk

Clearwell Caves www.clearwellcaves.com

River Wye Cruises www.symondsyateast.co.uk/kingfishercruise.htm